HOME > TRAVELLER INFO > Zhangjiajie Panorama >

Introduction of Zhangjiajie Administrative Regions

Updated : Jul 09, 2019
Yongding District

located in the northwest of Hunan Province, Yongding District belongs to the hinterland of Wuling Mountains, where Zhangjiajie Municipal People’s Government lies. It is not only the political, economic and cultural center of Zhangjiajie, but also the core of tourist distribution and tourism in Zhangjiajie and Western Hunan. It neighbors Cili and Taoyuan to the east, Yongshun to the west, Yuanling to the south, Sangzhi and the world natural heritage reserve Wulingyuan to the north. In addition, it has jurisdiction over 6 towns, 6 townships and 10 streets with a total area of 217 400 hectares.

The resident population is 470,000, of which the total population of 16 ethnic minorities is 363,000, including Tujia, Bai and Miao. What’s more, it is world-famous for its unique landscapes and profound local customs. Six national tourist attractions have been built, including one 5A, one 4A and three 3A. The excellent natural landscapes are Tianmen Mountain, Baili Printed Corridors, Maoyan River and the ethnic-culture-centered humanistic landscapes of Tujia, Miao and Bai nationalities, forming a tourism pattern of “one mountain, one water and one city”.

Wulingyuan District

Wulingyuan District was approved as the county-level administrative region by the State Council in May 1988. it is a place where the core scenic spots of Zhangjiajie are scattered. It was praised by Wang Wei, a poet of Tang Dynasty, owing to its grotesque mountains, fresh water, deep valleys, perilous roads, quiet caves, dense forest, chirping birds, fragrant flowers and mystery.

In 1984, Hu Yaobang, then general secretary of the CPC Central Committee, visited here and named Zhangjiajie, Suoxi Gully and Emperor Mountain as “Wulingyuan”, so the core scenic spot of Zhangjiajie is Wulingyuan, which consists of Zhangjiajie National Forest Park, Tianzishan Nature Reserve, Suoxiyu Nature Reserve and Yangjiajie Nature Reserve.
Cili County

Cili County is located in the northwest of Hunan Province, the east of Zhangjiajie, the eastern edge of Wuling Mountains, and the midstream of Li River It  is one of important Zhangjiajie scenic spots with four 4A national scenic spots. It is a mountainous county, and has jurisdiction over 13 towns, 11 townships and 7 ethnic villages.

According to the historical records, its ancient city has a history of 2500 years and its county has a history of 2200 years. It is known as “Golden Cili and silver Li River”,  which refers that Cili is beautiful with abundant natural resources. It has many titles like “Home of Marble” and “Home of Hot Springs”, which was called Cigu in Qin Dynasty and changed from Ningyang County to Cili County in Sui Dynasty.
Sangzhi County

Sangzhi County is the hometown of Marshal Helong and the starting place of the Long March of the Red Army. It boasts unique and beautiful landscapes, mysterious and rich ethnical customs. It was listed as “Man and the Biosphere (MAB) in China”, “one of 17 key areas of global biodiversity In China” and “one of the 200 important ecological regions in the world”.

In addition, Fengluanxi National Forest Park, Jiudiandong Chixi River and 2 Loushui provincial-level scenic spots are scattered here, so it is truly a natural oxygen bar and the ecological green ocean. With a total area of 3474 square kilometers, it has 28 minorities with a total population of 450,000, 92.6%of which  are ethnic minorities, mainly including Tujia, Bai and Miao.

2019 Zhangjiajie Bureau of Culture, Tourism, Broadcasting and Sports